Many students choose to take a gap year before starting university, to travel or gain work experience. Do you think this is a good idea or a waste of time? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Entering to the university is one of the most important decisions in everyone`s life. That is why a lot of people are worried about their choice. To avoid making a (?) mistake many students take a gap year. Personally, I think this is a good idea and in this essay I will support my opinion with some examples.

Firstly, it is obvious (ly?), that if person would like to take some time, there are various reasons for it. For example, it is difficult to choose a degree, which they would like to get. In such case, teenagers can enter anywhere and after that understand, that such action (? поступок) was wrong, but it will be too late. They even can continue studying, but understand that they will never work by their occupation. In this situation there will be much more wasted time – 4 or even more years. So taking a gap year helps young people to understand what kind of job they would prefer and to make a right (correct) decision. Moreover secondly, this opportunity usually makes future students to gain get (?) important experience, which will be useful in their future. For example, to develop (evolve?) a foreign language level, communicational or other soft and hard skills.

However, some people strongly believe, that taking a gap year is just wasting the time. It is significant here also that teenagers take extra time for making a decision during the age when their memory is at the highest level (at peak). So maybe this time would be more effective to spend for studying.

Concluding it all, there are different reasons why students need to take a gap year, such as thinking about the career they would like to build (?) or learning something new. Therefore, in my view, it is better to take one year for making a right decision and not to claim avoiding it.