Many students choose to take a gap year before starting university, to travel or gain work experience. Do you think this is a good idea or a waste of time?

Instead of entering universities immediately after graduation, there are a lot of students who decide to spend a few years to travel or grow their own work experience. In my opinions, I totally agree with this statement.

This is an opportunity for students to discovery and comprehensively understand themself and life, which will be helpful in their career. For instance, young people taking a gap year could have more experiences and knowledge in real life, so they would choose more exactly their major to pursue in the future. Thanks to experiences from the gap year, they define their own advantages, disadvantages, desires and dreams. This is hard with students attending universities because their time has to be spent for classes, assignments and related projects. Overall, student can choose activities such as traveling, volunteers or internships to get more experiences

Additionally, having more relationships, networking is the big potential for young people’s career development. During the period of a gap year, students can take part in community projects or charity. Thus, they have a chance to meet various people from different majors. This is extremely beneficial to working. On the other hand, the positions in those projects or organizations are full-time jobs so it is not suitable for the individuals who study at universities at the same time.

In conclusion, taking a gap year gives considerable benefits to students who have graduated from high schools. Students can choose activities such as traveling, volunteers or internships to get more experiences.This not only expands young people’s view about life but also constructs qualified relationships and networking, which will support them in their life and career.