Many students choose to take a gap year before starting university, to travel or gain work experience. Do you think this is a good idea or a waste of time? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, the era that people cachoose many ways to study, many pupils decide to take a gap year after graduating from highschool instead of involving in university. Many people think it is a great idea but others think it is a waste of time. In the following essay, I’d discuss this further.

First, what’s a gap year? Gap year is a pause period after a learning process. It lasts from 6 to 12 months (even 2 years). And as I know, it’s quite common in Europe and Australia. Students have a lot of reasons to take a gap year. They want to have an opportunity to have a break because they are burned out from the traditional education process. Besides, they need to figure out what they might like to do. The last point, they like to learn in experiental ways.

Personally, I think when a gap year is taken, the time is not wasted but used usefully. I have read in some reports that 90% of students who take a gap year have GPAs higher than those of their peer who haven’t taken break. The break time can helps pupil to gain many experiences that they can’t learn from books or school. People, who have time to rest, will have a broader perspective and better understand themselves and the world around them.

To summarise therefore, taking a gap year is very beneficial if the pupils know how to use time in correct and effective ways. It will become a memorable period if the time is used not wasted.00