Many students find it difficult to concentrate or pay attention at school. What are the reasons? What could be done?

Over the last couple of decades, there has been an extremely concerning development of students having issues with concentrating. This essay will analyse the reasoning behind this phenomenon as well as try to find solutions to this problem.

To begin with, one of the most influential factors affecting our concentration levels are social media. By consuming tons of data that is deliberately packaged in these brief formats, we started losing the ability to pay attention to more conventional types of information. Now, our brains are wired to receive the most amount of knowledge in the shortest period of time. Therefore, when we need to read a long educational material, it is nearly impossible to put ourselves together and go through with it. Moreover, nowadays, youth has the access to the infinite amount of data via the internet. This innovation pushes them toward delving into topics that interest them. Younger people tend to believe that they know better which subject they are going to need in the future. This way, some of them make a conscious choice to spend their time exclusively on the content that will benefit them in some way or form.

In order to shift this paradigm of consuming information, we need to rethink the ways youth interact with media. By reducing the amount of time spend online, students can regain the ability to exist within the current paradigm. Additionally, teachers need to reconceptualize their educational approaches and try to adapt them to today’s fast-paced environment.

In conclusion, after examining this issue, I believe that there is a possibility to change the trajectory of this phenomenon by implementing new learning concepts and reducing youth’s online presence.