Many students today have difficulty concentrating on their studies. What probles does this cause, and what measures can be taken to improve students' concentration?

In recent years, concentrating on something is has become a major concern for people all over the world. Especially, students are suffering to deal with this problem while studying. In this essay, I will explore the causes of this situation, and suggest possible solutions.

One major cause of this problem is watching short videos on social media apps. In other words, during scrolling, people watch different types of videos which are mostly shorter than a minute. The videos are on different topics which makes the user experience different emotions every minute, thereby, changing the function of brain. For example, student who is fond of watching short videos on Instagram or you tube cannot focus on the lesson for a long time. On top of that, friends can be another reason why students are losing their concentration. This is because it is easy to chat nowadays by phone and the messages will be delivered in a blink of an eye. As a result, students just talk with their friends while doing their assignments and they forget to pay attention what they are doing.

There are several suggestions to mitigate this issue. First of all, students should get rid of distractive things in order to improve their attention. This can be achieved by placing the phone to another place or turning it of completely. For instance, the apps such as telegram or Instagram are designed to attract the user by the sound of notifications. By turning it off, students can do their tasks with more focus. In addition, they can use some specific apps which helps them to block their phone for a limited time. From my experience, there is an app called “cloud” which I use to improve my focus. I set the timer first and it does not allow me to use any function of my phone during this period. Consequently, I can do nothing but to do my homework even if I do not like or want it.

In conclusion, while reduced focus is caused by factors such as watching brief videos as well as friends, effective solutions like using specially designed apps or just leaving the device far away can significantly reduce its impact.