Many university students nowadays live away from home and their parents because of their university location, while others live with their families. What are the advantages and disadvantages of each situation?

Owing to the distance, plenty of students who study in university decide to move from their parent’s home, while others prefer to stay with their families. Obviously, this choice has few effects; both positive and negative.

Living alone away from their family bring numerous advantages for university students. To begin with, as an individual who are mature enough to make their own lives, undergraduates can take this opportunity to learn live independently, because in the future they cannot rely on to their mother and father forever. For instance, by living independently, there are many conditions which are possible for them to make their own decision, including money, time, and necessities management. In addition, in their age, it is possible for them to make their own private spaces. As a result, they may be free from any distractions and familial obligations.

In contrast, living with families also has its own positive outcomes, it leads to negative consequences for university-goer who lives alone. Generally, in that age, students get used to rely on their parents. In this transition period, many of them have not had direction to go forward. This can be dangerous if they have no control by their parents, because lecturers will not take care on their student as what teachers did in primary and secondary school. Eventually, many undergraduates in big cities commit suicide when they are in troubles.

To sum up, there is plethora of merits and demerits for both living independently and living in the same house with the family. However, what is better for them is depend on the readiness of students and their needs. Making a plan and preparation is needed, because living with new circumstances is a big movement.