Many university students nowadays live away from home and their parents because of their university location, while others live with their families. What are the advantages and disadvantages of each situation?

Owing to the distance, plenty of students who study in university decide to move from their parent’s home, while others prefer to stay with their families. Obviously, this choice has a few effects, both positive and negative.

Living alone away from their family brings numerous advantages for university students. To begin with, as individuals who are mature enough to make their own lives, undergraduates can take this opportunity to learn to live independently, because in the future they cannot rely on their mother and father forever. For instance, by living independently, there are many conditions that are possible for them to make their own decisions in, including money, time, and necessities management. In addition, at their age, it is possible for them to make their own private spaces. As a result, they may be free from any distractions and familial obligations.

In contrast, living with families also has its own positive outcomes, but it leads to negative consequences for university students who live alone. Generally, at that age, students get used to relying on their parents. In this transition period, many of them have not had direction to go forward. This can be dangerous if they have no control by their parents, because lecturers will not take care of their students as teachers did in primary and secondary school. Eventually, many undergraduates in big cities commit suicide when they are in trouble.

To sum up, there are a plethora of merits and demerits for both living independently and living in the same house with the family. However, what is better for them depends on the readiness of students and their needs. Making a plan and preparation is needed, because living with new circumstances is a big change.