Many university students nowadays live away from home and their parents because of their university location, while others live with their families. What are the advantages and disadvantages of each situation?

Recently, university students have been facing the dilemma of staying with their families or staying away from them in an unfamiliar city. This essay discusses the advantages and disadvantages of each situation. While moving out of home has several advantages, it also comes with several disadvantages.

Living away from home offers a lot of advantages. It provides an opportunity for the student to be independent and self-reliant. It prepares a student to face all sorts of challenges in life. These challenges expose the student to various soft skills such as budgeting, time management and problem solving. It fosters a sense of independence in students. They are also free from familial commitments, paving the way to focus on academics and other extra-curricular activities. Living away from home also pushes the student to find friends, thereby engaging them in social activities.

On the other hand, living with family also has its own advantages too. University students are under a lot of pressure and need emotional support to help them get through. Unlike in the former situation, the family can provide immense support to the student. Families are a great source of support at times like these. They can also support the student career wise in searching for a job or in pursuing higher studies. Staying with family also provides a healthy meal, financial stability, and a roof to stay under, thereby decreasing the burden the student has to go through.

In conclusion, deciding on whether to stay at home or not has both- advantages and disadvantages. It is up to the student to carefully evaluate and study which of the two will suit them better as this decision has a significant impact on their academic, personal and social development.