Many working people do not have enough free time off work to spend with their families and friends. Why? What are the effects on family life and society?

In recent years, it is true that workers do not have enough time to stay with their families or other relationship. This essay attempts to shed light on the driving factors behind this problem before outlining its impacts on family ties and society.

There could be several reasons that explain why spending time with family becomes increasingly difficult for employees. Firstly, in this day and age, due to the escalating demands and intensification of competition in the labor market, people are often required to work harder in long hours. This could help them secure their employment as well as increasing opportunities to widen career path and promotion. Another reason is that the desire to improve standard of living. Many individuals choose to devote all time to work in their company, even working over time, so that they could stand a greater chance of increasing income levels to make ends meet and have financial stability. Therefore, this makes ordinary people lose their balance between work and personal life as well as reducing their desire and enthusiasm to engage in family activities and other social gatherings.

This phenomenon has a host of effects on family and our society. The shortage of free time can significantly have adverse bearing on familial bonds. The lack of quality time could weaken familial bonds, creating gaps between family members. If employees too concentrate on their career, it might lead to some unnecessary conflicts because of misunderstanding, making heightened tension in family. Furthermore, the absence of parents frequently also has negative impact on children, especially children-rearing. Children who receive inadequate attention and education from parents, could feel lonely and isolated, which can affect their emotional and cognitive growth. For example, in some circumstances, they might not distinguish right and wrong, forming bad behaviors, such as anti-social. This could increase proportion of crime that is harmful for community.

To sum up, there are some underlying motives behind why people do not have sufficient square time to be with family and friends, namely livelihood or competition in working. This trend obviously exerts detrimental effects on both family life and society as a whole.