Many working people do not have enough free time off work to spend with their families and friends. Why? What are the effects on family life and society?

Nowadays, a large number of people have been snowed under with tons of workloads and thus leads to the fact that the quality time they spend with their loved ones tends to be less day by day. This phenomenon exists due to several reasons and may result negatively in family life and society as a whole.

While work-related stress may be lower compared to the past, the pressure to work harder has a converse trend. One of the main reasons why people become workaholics is because the cost of living, especially in cities and urban areas, is relatively expensive these days. As this happens, workers usually opt for additional working hours to earn more salary to fulfill their needs of living standards. Also, some people, especially interns, are scared of coming home before others though it is time to get off work. This action happened in consequence of their fear of being considered “the lazy ones”. As a result, working-overtime culture has been set up and maintained up to present. Another reason for busy work schedules is the incredible development of the technology. Inasmuch as this, workers can be called for work at any time and place, even if they are spending time with their families. On my last vacation, my dad could not join us on the last day because of the unexpected tasks given to him the night before. Although it may sound convenience for the company’s demand, workers hardly can bond with their families and friends like before.

Therefore, we can come up with the idea that the working-overtime culture impacts, both positively and negatively, to their family’s life and society as a whole. On the good side, the fact that people concentrate more on work can make a considerable progress in expanding their knowledge and improve their skills of the fields, which may help them become an outstanding candidate in the company. Additionally, by working more to pursue a better living condition, workaholics can make a contribution to the country’s development in economy. In contrast, spending excessive time to work can take their time that are for their families and sometimes can even ruin their camaraderie as quality time is one of the factors that help maintain relationships. In addition, working overtime can lead to stress as workers have to deal with a lot of deadlines in a long-term period. In a long-run performance, this does not only affect the workers themselves but also negate the society’s growth.

In conclusion, the phenomenon of over-work can be to blame for many reasons, including the workers themselves and the company’s expectation. Furthermore, it strongly influences their family connection and society’s development as a whole, in both good way and bad way.