Many young children today leave school with a negative attitude towards learning. Why is this happening? What can be done to encourage young people to have a positive attitude towards learning?

In recent times, a vast number of youngsters dropout from educational institute with a negative reaction against acquiring knowledge. This may be due to outdated education system, which the government can help to incur positive thoughts on children by updating the curriculum.

To begin with, there are a plethora of reasons why young people leave school, which outdated education system is one. Some institutions still utilize 19th century method of teaching to transfer knowledge to the students which include using stones to calculate figures. The world is revolving that a greater number of learning process are supposed to be changed in order to attract and accommodate new generation. For instance, in Northern Nigeria, a number of universities still employ a tutor with lower educational qualification to lecture post graduate students, which will result in the scholars drawing away from the institute. These are the reasons why children develop a negative attitude toward learning and dropout out of school.

However, the government are the best candidate to solve this problem. The government should review and implement modern methods of learning. The system should be updated according to twenty-first century condition and interest of the citizens. The physical conditions of the schools which includes the environment and classrooms should also be improved due to the fact that they play a vital role in attracting young people. To illustrate, in the Western World, their governors updated their curriculum and decorate their learning surroundings which help in attracting students from various nations.

In conclusion, the cause for the negative attitude of children towards acquiring knowledge is the utilization of older method of lecturing which the government could encourage the young people to establish good attitude by modernizing the curriculum and developing the physical conditions of the school.