Many young people leave school with negative attitudes towards learning. What are the causes? How to encourage young people to study

Students hate maths and science. More often than not students dislike hard to comprehend topics. However there are deeper reasons to why this happens.

Firstly, your academic performance is judged by everyone around you, universities, friends, family and relatives pressure you to get better grades. This might seem like a good thing at first to make someone improve, but the stress can easily build up and cause depression and substance addiction along with hate for studies.

Secondly you may be forced to take classes you didn’t want to take. For example an art student could be forced to take science and maths by standards imposed by the society. The ideology that someone must become a doctor or a lawyer still exists and forces countless students to go into a career that they did not wish for. Though it may sound like a similar argument to the first statement it is different as it states the effects of the pressure.

Lastly, and most importantly, studies take a lot of time. They often take so much time of your day that you may not have anything else. This obviously makes people hate studying as it would the fun out of their life. For instance, I was forced to quit badminton when I was in grade 6 when my grades started dropping a little. However, to me badminton was more important at that time. I was able to play with adults with ease, but my parents forced me to quit badminton and focus more on my studies. This actually ended up dropping my grades even more. So many incidents happen to people such as these and they end up making them hate studies.

In conclusion, even though studies are an important part of a student’s life they need to be able to relax and live life to the fullest. When they are pressured into choosing courses they hated and couldn’t get their dream job and when they couldn’t participate in sports and socialize it’s not easy to see why students end up hating studies.