Many young people today are losing interest traditional cultural activities, such as dancing, music, festivals. What are the causes of this? What solutions can you suggest to encourage more young people to take part in these activities.

There is an increasing loss of interest in traditional amusements such as dancing, music and cultural events, among young generation. This is primarily attributed to the availability of technology which provides humans with instant, easily-gained entertainment. However, there are some steps that governments could take to tackle this issue and rekindle young people’s interest.

It is technology that has led to the growing disinterest of the youth in their own cultural uniqueness. With widely accessible entertainment platforms like Facebook, Instagram, and YouTube available on most people’s phones, many young people are drawn to ready-made videos and digital games, becoming addicted to instant gratification. This contributes to significant time lost on participating in others activities or traditional events. This is evident in Vietnam, where young people no longer adore their traditional musical style, instead they are enlightened by universal pop music, which are trendy on social media platforms. Traditional festivals are also being neglected as the young nowadays are fascinated by foreign cultural events that are famous online.

Based on the culprit, governments can effectively mitigate this issue by taking advantage of online platforms. Given the unprecedented popularity of social media, the authorities should promote their country’s traditional unique amusements to the general public using websites with a high number of users. This would not only spark local young people’s interest in watching and learning more about their culture, but also advertise the country uniqueness globally. Such solution has been proved to be effective in events such as Tet, Vietnam’s Lunar New Year, which are popularized by their governments on both mainsteam and social media. This has promoted the colorfulness and specialty of Vietnamese culture, attracting young people into continuing preserve their tradition.

In conclusion, the advancement of technology has undoubtedly resulted in the loss of interest in traditional activities in young people. However, by utilizing such a tool, governments can regain young generation’s engagement and persuade them to preserve their own culture.