Many young people today are losing interest traditional cultural activities, such as dancing, music, festivals. What are the causes of this? What solutions can you suggest to encourage more young people to take part in these activities.

An increasing number of young individuals are losing interest in their traditional amusements. The primary cause of the loss in the attractiveness of cultural dancing, music, and festivals is globalization, which is promoted by social media. However, governments and individuals can take steps to tackle this issue and rekindle the young generation’s interest.

It is the advancement of social media that has boosted globalization, which is blurring the differences among cultures. As most young people are exposed to content from diverse cultures online, they are particularly drawn to the ones that are internationally famous and in frequent algorithms. This is the reason why music and dancing styles from Western culture, typically the U.S., are so well-known and in favor of the young. In addition, festivals and cultural events are also being affected by social platforms. Annual events from the West such as Christmas, Halloween, and Thanksgiving are globally promoted on Facebook, YouTube, and Instagram, which tremendously levels their popularity and entices people around the world to participate.

Given the culprit, governments ought to utilize the same strategy to effectively catch young people’s attention and encourage them to preserve their own cultural heritage. Taking advantage of the availability of social media, authorities, and people can promote their own folk music and dances to not only local residents but also foreigners. With eye-catching visual and catchy rhythm music videos and TV shows, the interest of young people can be triggered, and they would be willing to partake in traditional activities or help to spread them if less. Traditional events such as Tet and mid-autumn in Vietnam, are well-known thanks to posts from netizens, who often take pictures of decorations and their family gatherings.

In conclusion, unprecedented globalization has undoubtedly led to the loss of interest in cultural activities among the young generation. In order to alleviate such trends, governments and individuals can publish and popularize their own cultural uniqueness on social media platforms.