Media coverage of violent crime frightnes people and encourages criminals.Some people say it should be banned from newspapers and TV programmes. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

It is believed that increasing awareness of aggressive criminal acts through media, newspapers and TV podcasts creates senses of horror among individuals and promotes criminal behavior. Many find the solution in prohibiting such news from TV. I totally disagree with the idea of banning all at once as it can be seen as justifying such criminal acts and completely ignoring the root causes.

For many decades, people that commit crimes have been put as headlines in newspapers to show the consequences of unlawful behavior. While this may seem like a harsh step to maintain justice among people, it has been proven to be the best as individuals rethink what can happen to them in the future if they commit a crime. Moreover, media coverage helps people to stay informed and alert. For example, to show how a criminal tricked a person and broke into their house is written in the newspaper or said in TV, people will most likely contact police if a similar situation happens.

Thirdly, banning crime coverage violates freedom of speech and encourages censorship. If governments start restricting everything because “it is too frightening” or “inappropriate”, it can pose detrimental impacts for the future of the country. Furthermore, removing crime related topics from newspapers decreases awareness of the root causes of criminal behavior. Crime acts are often triggered by issues related to mental well-being, social economic status and lack of education. Providing shelters, rehabilitation and educational facilities are far more feasible solutions rather than banning the crime media.

In conclusion, while media coverage of violent crime may cause concern to some extent, I firmly believe it should not be restricted. News reporting plays a crucial role to stop criminal behavior and help people to understand how it can be stopped.