Missions to explore space are hugely expensive, and there are problems on Earth which demand attention. The number of these missions needs to be reduced. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer, and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Missions to explore space are costly and there are a number of problems faced by scientists on Earth. These types of missions must be reduced. Yes, I strongly agree with this point because large investments are needed to fulfill such missions; on the other hand, they are very costly and the rate of success is also too low as most of these missions are trial-based.

According to surveys, most developed countries spend a significant portion of their income on conducting trials to reach space. NASA, one of the most popular space-related institutes originating in America, which has the biggest economy in the world, spends billions of dollars on these projects. The projects require highly qualified scientists who are hired at salaries that would be enough to feed a quarter of the poor or developing countries. Additionally, the use of various types of technology further requires investment, and billions are spent to discover and invent the latest machinery to accomplish the tasks. Nowadays, countries like America, Russia, and China are entirely focused on such projects, wasting time and money on these lengthy tasks. Years are being spent to achieve success, and people are then hired to take risks in going to space. Many skilled workers are lost due to the drastic results pursued by such scientists.

Furthermore, these types of projects are entirely trial-based; after hundreds of trials, the scientists may be able to achieve higher and full results. For example, going to Mars is still an active project where thousands of people are sent to check for the presence of life and the survival of humans under controlled conditions. From here, you can evaluate the costs that have been incurred up to now.

In conclusion, I would say that these types of projects are time and money-consuming. Special rules and regulations must be implemented by the government to halt these kinds of projects.