Mobile phones have brought many benefits, but they have also had negative effects. Do the disadvantages of having mobile phones outweigh the advantages?

Mobile phones have had an enormous impact on many aspects of our lives. Our personal and professional communication has been profoundly changed by them, and they clearly have many advantages. However, there are several drawbacks to being constantly available and connected to the internet, which I will outline below.

By far the most common criticism of cell phones is the fact that we are now expected to be available at all hours of the day. Before cellular phones were invented, the time spent away from work was our own, but now it seems that the separation between work and free time has disappeared. In addition, smart phones pose certain health risks and can be dangerous if drivers use them at the wheel or if people cross busy roads while texting. There have been several communications mode related accidents and fatalities. However, even in public places such as on the train or at the cinema, there is no escape from the noise of annoying ringtones and loud, one-sided conversations.

On the other hand, there are obvious benefits. The most powerful argument in their favor is that they can be used to call for help in the most inaccessible places, for example when a car breaks down in a remote area, and emergency services can be called to the scene of an accident without delay. Moreover, being easily contactable every minute of the day has real advantages for business people and for working parents.

To conclude, I feel that although there are some clear drawbacks to digital phones, their efficiency, portability, and multi-functional abilities have greatly enhanced most aspects of our lives, and the plus points certainly offset the downsides.