Mobile telephones have brought many benefits but they have had negative effects. Do the advantages of having mobile phones outweigh the advantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

Since Steve Jobs presented the iphone to the world in 2007, mobile phones have gone through a rapid and impressive evolution which deeply affected all aspects of our life. With such an epic invention, a modern mobile phone has strongly facilitated people’s lives in many ways. At the same time, certain drawbacks have been arisen because of its popularity.

Starting with the advantages, it is clear that using mobile phones makes life much more robust. For example, mobile phones help us to communicate with friends, relatives and colleagues instantly at any time and in any location. Thanks to the development of mobile software, users can get access to enormous data sources at high speed through social networks such as Facebook, X and Discord as well as search engines like Google and Bing. Finally, mobile phones have become a revolutionary device that are almost as powerful as full-fledged computers and thus can be used not only for communication, study, and work but also for entertainment.

Despite the indisputable advantages that cellphones offer, there is a number of drawbacks to be kept in mind. Firstly, they can make people anti-social as they spend more time looking at their phones than at each other. Secondly, being addicted to mobile phones applications can have significant impacts on human mental health, such as insecurity and gloss phobia, as well as physical health like obesity, spine curve and blur eyesight. A final drawback is that all the information such as credit card numbers and other sensitive data stored on our phones can potentially pose a very serious security threat to our assets and own safety.

In conclusion, mobile phones are in everyone’s pocket and we feel ill-at-ease when they are not there. We have reliantly grown on these little things. Therefore, it would be worse if mobile phones had not been existed at all. As long as people can keep balance on how they use their phones for important activities and entertainment, as well as caring for mental and physical health, I do not think there are any serious problems. With such awareness, mobile phones make us appreciate them more.