Modern technology now allows rapid and uncontrolled access to information in many countries. This is a danger to our societies. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Information is known to spread faster and wider with the presence of technology, which could be a good thing, but it also raises concerns about potential dangers to society. I do think it has clear benefits, from spreading of culture, global problems, and many more, but it can also be incorrectly used, hence posing significant risks.

The easy access to information by technology has given numerous advantages to the world. It has introduced cultures to people, as well as emphasized important world issues such as global warming. This has caused more awareness in people who can help little by little. The internet still has many more advantages to offer.

The main problem with information around technology is the possible spread of misinformation. In social media, anyone can post anything and it may just go viral, even the fake news. It can mislead the public and if worse comes to shove, it may also harm people. Fake news aside, the quick spread of information may also be dangerous for an individual as the digital world handles much of our personal information. If a known company that holds them were hacked, the information can be spread quickly and widely around the world, making it difficult to stop the leak of data, which can often lead to identity theft.

Even though the rapid speed of information spreading can cause harm, I believe these risks can be mitigated through better regulation, digital literacy, and good cyber security. It is not right to put the blame on technology itself when people’s managements are likely the main issue.