Modern technology such as personal computers and the internets have made it possible for many people to do their work from home at least part of their work instead of going to an office every day. What are some of the advantages and disadvantages of this situation.

Remote working has been made possible nowadays by the advances of modern technology, such as personal computers and the Internet. Office workers, in some cases, do not have to commute to their offices anymore to do administration tasks. However, this bears some debate in the public as it sparks advantages and disadvantages.

On the bright side, distant-working could save money and time for employees to go on a working. It reduces transportation costs significantly as they do not have to attend physically. The time that usually allocated by working commuters to travel from their homes to their office back and forth will automatically nullified. This could impact the company that employed this method by reducing their spending on the employees’ transport allowances. Another positive outcome from work from the home method is to prevent a disease outbreak. This became a reality during COVID-19 outbreaks as offices were forced to shut down by the government and instead shifted to use this method in order to decelerate the infections.

Moving on to the contrary side, there are some negative effects caused by this contactless working method. For some of the occupations that need direct involvement of manpower, such as technicians, electricians, health care workers, construction workers, or those who employ themselves in the tourism industry, this method is simply less practical. This is because the mentioned sectors need hands-on operation or communication skills that can not be substituted by connected devices or done from afar. Another problem might arose from the implementation of remote working is the internet-caused fatigue that possibly happen due to long term exposure from screen radiation and relatively stagnant sitting position.

In conclusion, cutting-edge technology has created a condition where working from home would not be an issue anymore. Nevertheless, it should always be understood that not all of the working sectors are able to change their nature directly to adopt this method. It is of course an alternative to the current working situation that offers some trade-offs too, but it is not a sole future solution from the commuting problems we had faced today.