Modern technology such as personal computers and the internets have made it possible for many people to do their work from home at least part of their work instead of going to an office every day. What are some of the advantages and disadvantages of this situation.

Implementation of job responsibilities remotely instead of daily commutation to the workplace has provided opportunities for various individuals as a result of the widespread advanced tools, namely computers and internet platforms. As far as I am concerned, this trend has some merits and possible demerits.

On the upside, doing the job tasks from home with the wireless tools can contribute various benefits. Firstly, it can cause unnecessary daily journeys to the office. This can simply lead to not only saving time but also energy. As a result, the person can engage in their work response in the personal customized space, along with declining heavy traffic, which releases a lot of fumes into the air. Another opportunity is enhancing the performance of the responsibilities. When people work in their home, all the distractions can be controlled easily than in the office, and by this way, it allows the person to focus on the task at hand deeply, ensuring all duties run smoothly. Take an example: after the coronavirus epidemic, when the majority of companies such as Amazon and Google shifted the work remotely, the efficiency was unexpectedly great, which allowed a portion of employees at home to do tasks till now.

On the downside, absence in the work environment may bring some disadvantages. Initially, the individuals can lose their social interaction. It is proven that discussing face-to-face with colleagues can have a positive effect on intellectual behavior. The employees who work at home a long time in front of screens suffer from an augmentation of soft skills, namely cooperation. Also, there are a wide range of activities that require consideration in a team group. So, if the people carry out their task personally by the computer, it can raise the chance of error and make a risk that the outcomes are not effective.

In conclusion, these days many companies tend to implement some of their tasks remotely due to the development of cutting-edge technologies. I am very confident that the merits, including enhanced efficiency and hindering redundant commitments, completely eclipse the demerits, which are decline in social communication and risk of bad results.