Modern technology such as personal computers and the internets have made it possible for many people to do their work from home at least part of their work instead of going to an office every day. What are some of the advantages and disadvantages of this situation.

Most of the organizations are promoting work from home. This trend has been made possible only because of technological advancements in communication. There are many benefits of this development such as cutting down commuting time and working at own convenience. However, it also comes with some detrimental effects on employee’s personal lives and productivity.

Technology has become an irreplaceable part of work culture and helps the worker to save time. In other words, getting ready for work and travelling takes a lot of time. Whereas the option of staying at home and working is a blessing for them. As a result, they can use this time to perform household duties or for personal purposes. In addition, it also provides an opportunity for the employees to work efficiently within their comfort zone. Simply put, working while sitting on a couch or bed is much less stressful than in an office. Therefore, internet and computers have changed the conventional way of working and assisting the worker for better time utilization and easing working conditions.

There are several downsides to this trend as well. Firstly, it affects their family and homes’ culture. To clarify, maintaining a quiet and peaceful environment is always a challenge at home; thus, to control these factors family members always feel pressure on them. Consequently, there are always chances to have arguments and tense situations. Moreover, working with virtual platform of interaction results in lack of professionalism. To clarify, working in person at the organization includes dress code, designated offices and curriculum whereas at home all these factors are seen to be missing. Resultantly, the calm and friendly working culture triggers their productivity.