Increasing numbers of students are choosing to study abroad. To what extent does this trend benefit the students themselves and countries involved? What are the drawbacks?

Studying abroad has become increasingly common in the last few years, especially for young people from countries such as China and India. Many students and their families clearly consider the experience worth the sacrifices involved. The former often give up friendships when they move abroad; the latter often use their life savings. Moreover, many governments are willing to invest huge sums of money in sponsoring their young people to study in universities overseas. However, this trend has drawbacks as well as benefits for those concerned.

One potential drawback of studying abroad is a so-called brain drain, which implies a decline of specialists that move to more prosperous countries, seeking better working opportunities. It is often that prospective students, who go abroad to obtain a higher degree, build relationships, make professional connections, and may eventually make a decision to remain in a foreign country and settle down. While this practice benefits individual students and their host countries, it may cause a sharp lack of professionals and stagnant development of home countries.

Furthermore, studying abroad forces students to separate from their families and friends, while putting them into a completely new environment, which can lead students to emotional distress and disconnection from their origins. Additionally, studying abroad is not always fully granted, so some families are supposed to pay for tuition and experience financial struggles and restrictions.

However, the favourable impact of studying abroad is undeniable, since international students exchange views, learn how to adapt, socialize, and integrate into an absolutely different society, gaining experience that changes lives.

On balance, the drawbacks of getting higher education abroad does not outweigh its benefits.