Money used for space exploration should be spent on problems on Earth. Discuss both views.

Space exploration has been going on for over a century and has led to interesting discoveries related to the solar system and its planets. However, people argue that the hefty amount spent on such extravagant ventures should be utilized for public welfare. This argument is solid because with increasing earth’s population, it’s problems, such as food security and poor medical, are also increasing. However, it would be too narrow to deprioritize space missions, which have their own potential impacts on human life.

Considering recent challenges facing the earth, including hunger, poverty, and diseases, it seems prudent to spend money on human welfare. For example, funding the firms working on precision agriculture would lead to sustainable farming practices and increased food production, reducing risks related to food security. Moreover, spending on modern medical facilities and research centers would help develop innovative solutions for different diseases, eventually reducing human suffering.

However, space exploration has its own benefits which can not be neglected. For instance, the study on galaxy and its environmental properties seemed to be less useful in the early 1970s; however, it led to the innovation of satellite communications, which is a backbone of several useful applications including the Internet. Although these scientific ventures seem to have very less impact on day-to-day life, their long-term impacts are substantial.

In my opinion, there should be an efficient trade-off between the two. Funding bodies providing solutions to immediate problems is important. For instance, governments should keep on investing in artificial intelligence, as it has the potential to revolutionize our healthcare and other important sectors. However, space exploration should still be given importance as it can help provide solutions which could have long-term impact on human life. For example, recent attempts to explore the scientific properties of different elements found on mars might help humans in solving problems requiring specialized elements.