More and more parents are allowing their children to play on computers and tablets as they think that children should learn technology skills.Do the advantages of the development outweighs the disadvantages?

In contemporary society, the question of whether or not parents should let their children access computers or tablets is one, which needs to be looked at carefully. While some argue that there are worse after-effects than its merits, others believe that it can be beneficial to children to learn technology skills, myself included.

It is obvious that this approach will drive more disadvantages. Firstly, if the parents persuade their kids to use the computers and tablets soon, it will harm the children’s physical health. To be more specific, interacting with the blue light from the digital screens will lead to many diseases such as eye strain, myopia, or obesity. Secondly, overusing the technological devices makes children less concentrate on their studies, because they tend to prioritize what is more attractive and neglect the boring ones. However, these problems can be addressed, if the parents strictly manage the time that their kids spend on these devices and accompany with them to guide and teach them use in a proper way.

Despite the drawbacks above, allowing children to play on digital devices may carry out more significant potential advantages, such as cognitive development and a robust technological knowledge foundation. Regarding the former, exposing children to technological applications will create more opportunities for them to learn new techniques to solve the high-tech problems. For instance, kids tend to play games on the tables, and during the time they play, there are some issues appearing to make it harder, so they will try to find the solutions to overcome the challenges that trains them about the solving-problem skill, as well as the critical thinking and creativity. As for the latter merit, the digital equipment outreach at younger ages allows children to accumulate a considerable amount of information involved technology. It means that when children play on such devices, they must look for how to use and control each application, gradually it will form a fundamental foundation, which is essential for their future careers.

In conclusion, although accessing the digital application can bring challenges such as diseases and distraction, its benefits, like cognitive development and fundamental knowledge foundation, are significantly greater.