More and more people are choosing to read e-books rather than paper books. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages of this trend?

In this contemporary world, digital gadgets have become an indispensable part of life. From leisure activities to professional needs we rely on theses novel innovation. This helped e-books to gain popularity over printed books. Although, it sparked a debate with the side against e-books claiming it causes vision damage, I firmly believe that the advantages outweigh any perceived drawbacks.

First of all, the convenience of e-books is beyond comparison with paper books. Many people rely on reading as a time killer while travelling or commuting, having digital books in their smartphone or laptop will save them a trip to bookshop. Additionally, it can relieve them of the burden of carrying heavy books around, since many digital gadgets are quintessential for work, people will be carrying them anyway.

Secondly, the sheer number of books one can store in their phones gives them luxury of options which the paperbacks lack. The data size of an e-book is usually less than 10 megabytes, that provides the option store more without compromising data storage for other needed files. For example, the whole Harry potter book series constitute only about 25 megabyte, while its hardcopy weighs about 4-7 kilograms depending upon the type of paper and cover used.

All these easiness does have a few drawbacks such as reading an e-book requires longer screen time and it is argued that it can cause vision problems. Furthermore, the possibility of distraction is high since there is a good chance of receiving notifications from other applications in the gadget. However, these issues are already addressed by experts and solutions are readily available.

To conclude, e-books clearly have a distinct advantage over traditional books as they provide convenience in mobility, availability and provides generous options for all type of readers. Even though, there are a few drawbacks like increased screen time and the chance of easy distraction but these issues can be tackled easily.