More and more people are choosing to work form home. Is this a positive or negative development?

Numerous job openings in recent days are providing opportunities to work remotely from home. This trend has been extensively implemented in COVID-19 pandemic several years ago and continue to revolutionize the conventional way of working. As far as I am concerned, this movement brings beneficial perks, especially to working parents and earth’s biosphere. This essay will delve into reasons why working from home is a positive development.

The major positive reason working from home offers is because it is simply environmental-friendly. Carbon and pollutants emitted from vehicles to transport employees back and forth worsen the air quality, until it reaches the point where it is jeopardizing human’s health and the ecosystem. For instance, it can be observed back to COVID-19, lock-down and restrictions have proven the limitation of movement extensively improve air quality. In addition, pollution fog surrounding capital cities such as Beijing, Jakarta and New Delhi instantly disappear during the pandemic. Hence, by encouraging this practice extensively, global warming effects can be delayed reaching the level where it is controllable.

Another convincing reason to promote working from home is due to parents can spend more time with their loved ones. Traditional working hours will consume at least 8-10 hours per day, which limit the required interactions and affections necessary for significant others or children. Father figures are highly essentials for toddler development, therefore, with available father in the household, a significant increase on brain development and emotional skills in children.

Despite of the flexibilities working from home scheme offers, it is obviously not applicable for all sort of occupations. Manual work such as construction-worker, hard labor as well as healthcare professionals are still mandated to work in their field, physically. Several adverse effects of work from home are daunting for employers since the workers are prone to be indiscipline with their workload. Therefore, it is crucial for business to establish control and monitoring for employees’ performance, even if they are working virtually.

In conclusion, trend shows the tendency of employees preferring working from home virtually due to several benefits the scheme offers. It is evident that working from home is safer for environment as they significantly decrease the pollution levels. Furthermore, they provide more quality time for families. However, this scheme will not fit thoroughly for all available jobs since physical interventions are mandated in critical jobs such construction and healthcare.