More and more people nowadays visit well-known places to take photographs of themselves, without looking at the place. Why do you think this is happening? Is it a positive or a negative trend? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Visiting new places was always a big part of human’s life. Almost 70% of people visit a new country or city at least once a year. Before social media attacking our everyday life, we used to travel to educate ourselves, rather than now, more and more people do this to take photos and post them on social medias. In spite of the amount of information provided by the internet, we are becoming less interested in exploring some new things, and are more focusing on making an impression.

Some people consider this is happening due to the fact that new generations are not using social medias to educate themselves, but to earn money and entertain. To do this, you need to have the lifestyle that could catch the attention and make people being interested in following you. From my point of view, we are slowly becoming addicted to the thoughts of making impression and getting more views on our posts. The thoughts that someone will be jealous to our success is much more important than making sure that we have enough knowledge of what we are surrounded by.

From my perspective, this phenomenon affects negatively of our brain working. Nowadays, you could hardly find a teenager or adult under 35 who knows the secret of Egyptian pyramids or the meaning of Statue of Liberty, but they easily could name five and more celebrities who have photos with these destinations. This explains the fact that people are slowly losing interest in education, but increasing the willingness of getting attention.

In conclusion, there are a amount of reasons people are becoming less and less keen on sightseeings. I believe that one day the trend of taking photos everywhere will reduce. We are more than just a picture on the internet.