More and more plastic waste is polluting the world's cities, countrysides and oceans. What problems does this cause? What measures could be taken to solve them?

Growing amounts of countrysides, towns and water bodies are affected by plastic contamination. This imposes a serious threat to health of the local residents, affecting the products they consume, and their surroundings. The given issues can be solved by raising taxes on plastic utilization, as well as globally increasing awareness.

It is widely known that plastics do not completely dissolve. Instead, they separate into tiny pieces called microplastics. The latter have various negative impacts by spoiling the soil and making it toxic and infertile for growing plants or damaging habitats and health of marine wildlife in oceans. Moreover, microplastics are present in the majority of products we exploit and consume on a daily basis, and among the most common examples are soap, tap water, and food. Those fractures tend to accumulate in the internal organs of a human being, causing risk of different diseases. As an example, in several regions of India, the cities are utterly polluted by non-organic waste, which in return leads to microplastic polluting the air surrounding given places. This results in enormously higher risks of respiratory infections among citizens.

There are several efficient ways to tackle this issue. Firstly, awareness has to be raised to inform people about the influence of inorganic waste on both their medical state and environment. In fact, since most of individuals are not particularly educated about this topic, they do not find reducing the use of plastic a necessary matter. In addition, taxes have to be implemented on consumption and production of plastic-containing products. Because abruptly cutting the use of plastic is surreal due to its wide application, charging additional payment for applying it in personal and commercial ways. Businesses may be charged for manufacture of eco-hostile goods, and customers can pay extra for using them. In Japan, for example, customers in supermarkets are taxed for using plastic bags, and it led to 40% decrease in the amount of them purchased in the last decade.

In conclusion, plastic pollution poses a menace not only to the environment, but also to the organisms and wellbeing of humans, while it can be solved by forcing taxes on individuals and organizations, and providing accessible data on its negative outcomes.