More and more plastic waste is polluting the world's cities, countrysides and oceans. What problems does this cause? What measures could be taken to solve them?

In cities, the countryside and oceans, plastic waste is polluting in increasing numbers. This essay will elucidate the multifaceted problems engendered by plastic pollution and propose cogent measures to mitigate its deleterious impacts.

The causes lead to pollution by plastic waste. In cities, almost all business owners use plastic packaging, which significantly negatively impacts urban areas. With the current era of increasingly developed technology, most people shop online or order food outside. Therefore, it has unintentionally caused an increasing amount of commercial plastic waste. In the countryside, most people have not learnt adequate education. Therefore, they do not have enough awareness to realise the toxicity of plastic waste. In the ocean, we can see a lot of food stalls. After the tourists use the food on or next to the shore, cleaners often dump rubbish into the sea. Not long ago, on TikTok Vietnam, a short video went viral of a cafe employee who, while cleaning up the leftover cups of water from customers, poured all the water into the sea.

Nevertheless, these problems might be solved if both individuals and the government start to take action. For the authorities, they should come up with new regulations or policies to protect the environment. In addition, they should impose heavy penalties on violators. Furthermore, the government could invest more in environmental protection in some organisations. They can open classes to teach citizens how to protect the environment and understand the benefits of protecting the environment. For individuals, business owners can change their packaging to environmentally friendly ones. Moreover, they can add discounts when customers use their cups or bags. In 2019, responding to the green living movement, Starbucks reduced prices to encourage customers to bring their own water bottles and received a lot of support.

To sum up, the plastic waste pollution negatively influences the ecosystem, the quality of living, and the development of tourism. However, we can still use several tactics to address this problem, including using fewer plastic-made products and making products with more eco-friendly materials.