More and more students at universities today are not choosing to study science. Why is this happening? What could be the possible effect of this?

An increasing number of college students are opting out of studying science. This is mainly because the job market is not very welcoming to science graduates. Unfortunately, that can lead to devastating consequences, because science is the backbone of progress, and if we lose the former, we will lose the latter.

There are not many career options available to those who major in science, and even those small opportunities pay less than many other jobs. Allocation of limited funds to scientific research may be the culprit in this problem, which explains why this issue is more prominent in developing countries. For instance, I was always interested in pursuing a career in physics or astronomy, but my family kept discouraging and disheartening me till I threw in the towel.

This problem has dire effect on all of humanity, as it causes us to lose many bright minds that could have otherwise made our world a better place. For example, I know a friend who was very talented in mathematics and theoretical physics, who lost all passion and now works as a supermarket cashier instead of utilizing his talents in making great discoveries.

In summary, the lack of proper funding to scientific projects repulses a lot of bright minds from pursuing the discipline, and this has severe negative effects on whole world, because we are losing potential geniuses who could have possibly changed the world.