More and more young people from wealthy countries are spending a short time doing unpaid work such as teaching or building houses for communities in poorer countries. Why young people choose to do so? Who will benefit more: young people or the communities?

In recent times, more and more young people from rich nations are taking a short stay volunteering such as teaching or building houses for communities in low-income countries. This situation can be attributed to multiple factors, and I contend that it is a desirable development for the reasons discussed below.

There are several reasons why young people from wealthy countries choose to do volunteering. Firstly, they can gain a great deal of rewarding experience. For example, visiting underprivileged regions in Vietnam such as Quang Binh province can give them a profound understanding of the misery and hardship of the impoverished so that they can foster a great sense of humanity and altruism. Secondly, volunteering is a comparative advantage for the young when applying for a job in the future. In fact, with outstanding volunteering experience, they can compete with other rivals to have a job in the company they apply to.

From my standpoint, spending a quick visit by donating time and effort to communities in weaker economies is not a worrying trend for several reasons. Regarding the Young with unforgettable life lessons, hands-on experience, network of relationships, they can realize the diversity of life by getting to know people from every walk of life and gradually grow more mature and confident. As for poorer countries, with the contribution of volunteers, they can raise the living standards of their dwellers. For example, knowledge related to environmental protection or health care which they have studied by people in wealthy countries can improve their living conditions afterward.

In conclusion, I firmly believe that young people from rich nations taking a short stay volunteer such as teaching or building houses for communities in low-income countries is more beneficial than detrimental and efforts should be made to improve the lifestyle of economically disadvantaged nations.