More companies should employ older people. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

The tendency to hire older people is believed to have advantages and disadvantages. I strongly disagree with this practice’s benefit for the younger generation.

First of all, many graduates struggle to find a part-time job due to a lack of experience whenever older people have the privilege to be hired. It may cause younger people never to get their expectations high, and settle for earning bare minimum wages.

Furthermore, if companies aren’t interested in working with the youth, how do exquisite and progressive ideas emerge? Another disadvantage may be related to people in their twenties moving abroad in order to pursue their careers, which is not beneficial for the population dynamic.

For the reasons stated above, it is crucial for companies to value candidates not only by their experience in certain fields but also by their determination and preliminary achievements. This holistic approach to hiring will ensure a diverse and dynamic workforce which would be a dynamic force in cooperation between society from different backgrounds.

All in all, workplace progression and evolution don’t depend on a person’s age or heritage. The focus is supposed to be on what this person can add to the company and how they can succeed. The reasons are highly related to an individual’s motivation and aspiration to be as diligent at their work as possible.