More people is moving to the big city to live and work. What are the reasons and results of this trend?

Nowadays, the majority of people tend to lead their lives in the big cities, building careers and making families. This essay will explore the reasons and the consequences of this tendency.

No one can deny that there are plenty of explanations for why individuals prefer living in megacities. Obviously, the main reason for this trend is tons of various opportunities for self-development and climbing the career ladder. By way of example, it would be more challenging to be employed as a fashion designer in the small town rather than in the large city. Furthermore, it is also crucial to build strong connections with others, as professional growth often depends on having a wide professional network; so, people try to expand their social circle as much as possible, moving to the big cities. Another aspect of being the megacity’s resident is a range of available entertainment. Citizens always have the opportunity to attend different cultural events, including festivals, art exhibitions, museums, and theatre performances.

Having made these points, it is understandable that there are both positive and negative results of this development. One of the clearest benefits would be the economic growth of the big city, since people significantly contribute to its development by paying taxes and creating innovations. However, ecological issues, such as air pollution, climate changes, deforestation, and draining of minerals appear due to the urbanisation process. Moreover, overcrowding causes a great deal of stress and exhaustion. In this way, some individuals choose small towns or villages, as a calmer pace of live and less pollution are provided there.

To conclude, although I firmly believe that there are many understandable reasons for this tendency, I think that people should consider the consequences of moving to the big city before deciding whether they want to live.