Most career choices demand vocational skills or specialist knowledge however, despite this, most schools and still teach academic subjects such as history or social studies. Discuss the advantage and disadvantage of this.

Education is the key to success. In today’s modern world vocational skills or specialist knowledge leads to a great success but today also academic subjects like history and social studies are taught in the schools. In this essay the prose and cons of teaching these subjects will be discussed.

To begin with the merits of teaching subjects like history and social studies in schools. First and foremost is it makes one grounded with old times and religious things .Citizen are able to study about ancient times . People can get knowledge about how old spiritual and religious things were and can compare it with today’s world. With learning social science helps one know more about diversity of the country. One get familiar with wide range of flora fauna and vegetation. People get aware about extincting species and many other .It is enhances one’s general knowledge about surroundings.

Moving further towards demerits of teaching history and social science in the school. Firstly it is waste of time for those people who only want to adapt skills and a specialisation in a particular course . For them learning history is not worth because they are least interested in getting knowledge about ancient times . Adapting knowledge about history and social science do not help a person to improve his/her vocational practical skills .

To conclude, subjects like history and social science can be taught under elective course as those who have interest in learning can learn otherwise can learn any other subject. Teaching of these subjects has its own importance that can not be declined .