Most countries believe taht international tourism has harmful effect. Why do they think so? How to change their views?

Strides in aviation technology have brought down the cost of air travel, democratizing international tourism. Some critique that the rise in popularity and accessibility of international tourism is inducing harmful effects. While there’s some truth to this concern, individuals and governments still have the initiative to promote the sustainability of international tourism.

International tourism, largely fueled by the better-off, has an exploitive nature, which is likely to threaten the environment, culture, and people in destination country. One of the main critiques is that the recipient country could risk the loss of their natural and cultural heritage for the need to provide standardized accommodation and service fit for international travelers. Living quarters, entertainment facilities, and tourist attractions are often constructed at the expense of demolishing, or at least transforming existing structures. These manifestations of consumerism tend to homogenize distinct cultures and landscapes. Moreover, increased cash flow brought by tourists naturally drives the inflation of prices, including necessities, which inevitably affects local residents by adding to their cost of living. This is best exemplified by Bali’s witnessing dramatic increases in housing and dining prices due to a steady inflow of “digital nomads”, usually from developed countries.

However, all is not lost when it comes to taking advantage of international tourism while protecting the host country. Governments ought to shoulder the responsibility to stabilize the cost of life for local residents. This is feasible by imposing tax on necessities and housing for tourists, while allowing locals to enjoy a relatively low and stable price. The authorities also need to make sure the growth in the tourism sector benefits the mass by allocating their income to improving infrastructure. Additionally, strict regulations should be carried out to prohibit exploitation of land and nature resources. Last, but far from the least, individuals who have the privilege to travel abroad need to educate themselves to respect the culture and customs in the destination country.

In conclusion, those who reserve their opinion on international tourism are right to be worried about the homogenization and increasing living expenses imposed on the host country. Fortunately, with concerted and conscious efforts from the government and individuals, it is possible that international tourism can develop in a sustainable way.