Most countries believe taht international tourism has harmful effect. Why do they think so? How to change their views?

To such concerns regarding the importance of international tourism, many would argue that it can serve as a key revenue generator; however, others think it has negative effects in the future. In this essay, I would evaluate some reasons leading to this tendency before proposing some effective solutions.

On the one hand, there are some reasons that explain why many nations think that international tourism could bring detrimental influences. The first necessary reason is that plenty of popular destinations can attract thousands of people from all parts of the world on a daily basis, meaning that a large amount of waste is released into the environment such as straws, cans, and packaging, and as a result, it has strained the local waste management systems and these problems can not address immediately in a relatively short period. The main reason is that meeting the basic demands of the tourism industry requires a large number of facilities and amenities such as hotels, restaurants, parking lots, and playgrounds, resulting in many trees being cut down and replaced for these infrastructures, and ultimately this leads to forest degradation and increases much higher global warming that now is taking place in developed and developing countries having the rapid development in the tourism industry. This can surely only have negative effects in the future.

Despite the severity of this development, governmental intervention along with raising the awareness of each individual could effectively mitigate it. Firstly, the government should raise the public’s awareness of the drawbacks of deforestation for other purposes, particularly in tourism activities generally can pose a lot of threats to people’s living related to natural phenomena such as floods, hurricanes, and droughts. Beyond that, the authorities need to put more effort into encouraging tourism companies to generate more package tours associated with green nature such as hiking and trekking rather than devoting more time to living in a hotel or spending all day sleeping in a homestay, this would lead to fewer facilities putting up and less trees could be cleared down in the coming years. Generally, these ways can certainly not only preserve nature at a fast pace but also enhance the quality of people’s living for generations to come.

In conclusion, while international tourism could generate some negative impacts on nature and local communities, these problems could be mitigated gradually by a high level of effort between the government and fellow members of society. In my view, on the whole, although the rapid development of the tourism industry could have some detrimental influences, the benefits it brings are greater than the drawbacks.