Most people agree that money cannot buy happiness. Why is happiness difficult to define? How can people achieve happiness?

There occurs an argument that a better financial status leads to a happier life, while a majority of people believe that a vast amount of money still not buy pure happiness. However, true joy in life is undefinable, and there are several reasons for this statement, as well as a number of ways to achieve happiness that I will discuss in this essay.

The intangible nature of life satisfaction can be justified by several reasons. First of all, the definition of happiness is subjective – that is, each person has own views on the joy in life. In fact, each individual has an own identity, experiences unique circumstances, and has distinctive social life, distinguishing from others. Therefore, people divided variably on their perspectives of life, which would in turn lead to different standards of happiness. For a person living in poverty, pandemic, or war, happiness is merely staying healthy and safe, but for an individual living in better conditions, career achievement, social relationships, and self-development are contributors to happiness. Another reason is that people may accidentally ignore their happiness in life. True joy can be engendered by simplest things. However, some people, for different reasons, such as pressures in work and study, pay less attention to their own leisure interests, thereby missing a time for pure happiness in their ordinary lives. Thus, people would find it hard to precisely perceive the essence of happiness.

However, there are a variety of ways to find contentment. A persons would develop an unique sense of happiness. To this end, individuals must have their self-consciousness, the ability to aware of their characters and determine their actions and attitudes; gain enough life experiences; and stay optimistic about different situations. With this in mind, people can determine their desires and get positive feelings, contributing to the true happiness. Moreover, people would receive more enjoyment if they focus on minute things in their life. Finding a new hobby, catching every memories, spending time with friends and family, while sometimes considered unnecessary, have meaningful impacts on our mood. Capturing and taking more time to consider about every moments in life, individuals will realize that happiness occurs even in minor things.

In conclusion, happiness can not be defined appropriately since each person has a distinctive way to have self-contentment, and sometimes simple joy can be ignored. However, people can gain satisfaction in life by have a deep awareness about themselves and pay more attention to minimal things in their lives.