Most people are not interested in how their food has been produced. They only care about how much it costs. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people are conscious about the source of the food that they consumed while others are more concerned about the cost of the food itself. This essay will discuss how people are paying more attention to price tag of the food itself.

The price of food may fluctuate depending on the current season. To illustrate, at this moment, the price of chili is experiencing an increase in price due to the unusually hot weather that damages the crops. As a result, the farmers have to contend with the reduced crop yield. Similarly, during rainy season, chili plants may rot due to the wet and humid air, which, in turn, drives up the price of the food due to the lack of supply. However, the chili price often comes down right after rainy season as farmers harvest their chili crops, allowing the supply catch up with demand.

The price also dictates what kind of food one can eat depending on their place in wealth. Wealthier people may be able to fork up a lot of money to buy themselves gourmet ingredients such as lobsters, select beef cuts, and more whereas for the majority who has to work hard to make ends meet do not have a lot to spend on exotic menus. Around my area, while there are plenty of vegetables that go around the market, it depends on the availability and price per kilogram that ultimately decide the menu for the next few weeks or months.