Most people do not care enough about environmental issues. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, it is believed that many people are being indifferent to some serious environmental problems. I disagree with this statement, since the awareness of the seriousness of environmental issues is greater than it used to be a few decades ago. Therefore, more and more people take actions to solve arising problems.

First of all, the new education system raises awareness of the world’s problems by teaching students how to care about the environment. Compared to the past, the difference is obvious. Schools in today’s world focus on global problems more than they used to be. Pupils learn about already existing problems and possible outcomes of indifferent attitude, which as a result makes them act more responsible towards nature. For instance, many dirty areas became visibly cleaner over the past few years, which shows that people slowly change their habits.

Another factor is that many people only believe what they see and in this case environmental problems have become more visible lately. For example, now people can feel the abnormally high temperature caused by global warming. It made some individuals realize that these issues can no longer be ignored and it is time to take action. What is more, a lot of organizations, which encourage people to take care about nature, have appeared, highlighting the seriousness of this problem.

To sum up, these days modern society pays more attention to the environment due to numerous factors. The main reason is that these issues became more widely discussed, making people aware of the real problem and different ways to prevent it.