Most people have forgotten the meaning behind traditional or religious festivals. During festival periods, people nowadays only want to enjoy themselves. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Some people believe that traditional or religious festivals are chance to leisure and have fun. While many people today are forget about the true meaning of the festivals or holidays, I completely disagree with that.

On the one hand, many people in Britain celebrate Christmas as enjoying holiday, for example, decorate their homes, give and receive gifts, gather around the table with family and friends, enjoy traditional meals. Most people consider Christmas as a holiday period, not a time to practise religion. Additionally, they also celebrate other non-religious festivals like this. What I mean by that is there need to be a difference between spending time on the Christmas and celebrating other secular holidays.

On the other hand, in some cases, many children sing traditional songs which is related to religion. Sometimes school children practise performances which are illustrate the birth of Jesus. Furthermore, it is also worth mentioning that some of countries located in Middle East, celebrate festival called Eid. Eid is directly linked to the Islamic religion and is widely celebrated in Islamic countriesHowever, instead of spending this day only with joy and games, many Muslims go to mosques for prayer. This is one example of the responsibility for adults, which reminding them that they need to preserve traditions and religious values for the next generation.

In conclusion, if a balance is established between religious and national values and entertainment, and young people are taught that holidays like Christmas and Eid are not just ordinary celebrations but ancient traditions reflecting religious values, this will also be beneficial for society.