Most people today are overweight than ever before. What are the primary causes of this? What measures can be taken to overcome this epidemic?

It is believed that there has been a dramatic increase in the number of obese people. This problem is caused by a lot of factors, and I think it could be addressed by several viable solutions.

There are two reasons for the increase of the obesity rate. Firstly, in this day and age, more and more people have sedentary lifestyle. In other words, today people do less exercise than in the past. For example, now most of people work in office, so that they do tend to spend a lot of time in front of screen. This makes them don’t have time for exercise, leading to the rise of obesity. Secondly, unhealthy diet is one of the main factors of obesity. While the bustle and hustle of life make numerous people don’t have time for preparing a complete meat, unhealthy diet such as fast food with fantastic taste and cheap is more popular. For instance, young people trend to eat more snack, while the adults often use fast food due to busy schedule.

In order to address the problems, several measures will be put forward. In the realm of physical activity, the government should establish and appealing recreational spaces such as park and sport facilities. This can encourage individuals to step away from screen and spend time for doing exercise. For example, establishing public park or sport facilities can encourage individuals to stroll around or do exercise with their friend or family. In addition, public health campaigns must educate people about the important of a balanced diet rich in fruits, vegetables, while discouraging the consumption of high-sugar, high-fat processed foods. For instance, school should educate young children about high nutrient foods and harmful effect of fast food, which can reduce consumption fast food, leading to decrease obesity in social.

In conclusion, there are many causes of the increasing obese rare. Therefore, the government and individuals should have some measures to handle this problem.