Most societies has its homeless people. Some people think that the best way to help them is to give them money. To what extent do you agree?

Homeless people are very prevalent in most countries. People claim that donating money to them is the best method to address this problem. Personally, I agree that money can help them survive but I believe this cannot eradicate the issue completely.

On the one hand, having sufficient money allows homeless people to purchase basic goods, such as food, drinks, and medicines for survival. Therefore, they are less likely to die from starvation, dehydration, or severe illness. Moreover, they can even buy comfortable clothes to cope with harsh weather conditions when living on the streets. Since the main reason for being homeless is destitution, with money, they can live a relatively convenient life with decent shelter. To give an example, there used to be countless beggars dwelling below our town’s bridge, however, after receiving a lot of donations and support from the locals and authorities, their numbers plummeted significantly. Some even began to work in local shops.

On the other hand, money alone cannot help them escape poverty completely. Since most of them are uneducated, they may not have the ability or knowledge to spend it efficiently and instead, could waste it in one fell swoop. As humans tend to desire luxury over anything else, there is a likelihood of them wasting money on unnecessary items for the sake of temporary enjoyment. There are examples of many poor people who, even after winning lotteries, return to their original state or worse due to extravagant lifestyles.

In conclusion, money may provide the privilege of having a decent life for homeless people but it is just a tool. Without proper guidance and discipline to utilize it effectively, their lives could revert to their usual days of sleeping on the streets.