Music play an important role in society, others think it is simply a form of entertainment for individuals. Discuss both views and give your opinion Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Opinions are divided on whether music has a much larger impact on society or whether music is solely for entertainment purposes. While I may acknowledge the reasons behind the latter view, I still firmly support the former.

Those who believe that one of the forms of satisfaction is music may have several arguments. From their perspective, trendy music type just provides enjoyment and does not benefit anything else. This can be explained by the fact that nowadays, Tiktok users usually use some catchy choruses, which are the most special sound of any trendy music regardless of that music’s type, for dancing with their friends or enjoying that moment while they do not listen entirely those musics. In addition, background music or instrumental music are the genres of soft music helping individuals to feel more relaxed and reduce their stress and anxiety because of their soothing melodies. Therefore, there is no doubt that that is why music just entertains them in a short time.

Nevertheless, I still hold the belief that music holds a huge of social values for several reasons. Chief among these is the economic value. For instance, BornPink World Tour by BLACKPINK band, is the first tour by a girl group to gross over $200 million in history. This tour appeals a huge of young fanbase, mostly from who really rich. In particular, in order to support their idols, fanbase should pay a large amount of money to pay concert tickets as well as to purchase their lightsticks or albums, so their revenues after the tour not only contribute to their entertainment company but also boost the tourism industry of country hosting that tour. Another greater benefit of music come from to the folk-inspired music, which the type is Pop or EDM mixing with traditional music. The initial purpose of this music genre was to bridge the generation gap. However, over time, many listeners have come to appreciate it for its vital role in preserving cultural identity. This can be seen that Hoang Thuy Linh’s music is the most outstanding example, she blends traditional Vietnamese elements with modern pop such as using melodies from traditional instruments, lyrics, costumes, and images of Vietnam’s scenic spots, as a result, she not only preserves the national culture but also promotes the image of Vietnam to the world.