Natural resources such as water, forests and oil, are being used at an excessive rate. What is the main cause of this problem? How can this issue be solved?

Natural deposits such as fresh water, wood and crude oil are being exhausted rapidly and unreasonably nowadays. This essay will argue that the primary reason of this is a throwaway mentality thriving in many countries, while the most viable solutions are to impose stricter regulations on global manufacturers and to welcome recycling among ordinary people.

Few people would contest that a wasteful lifestyle sustained in many nations has led to an array of environmental problems. This is because people are obsessed with earning and buying, while global corporations promote this kind of behaviour through massive advertising. Ordinary members of the public feel the need to renew the interior of their houses, the contents of their wardrobe and pieces of technology they use on a regular basis. What is not taken into account is that every technological process involves a vast amount of resources such as electricity and water. For example, every year a new smartphone is released and people queue in pursue of the gadget without thinking how much effort, finance and natural resources its production has taken.

To tackle this problem the government should encourage manufactures to use recyclable and eco-friendly materials and procedures during production stages. Otherwise, unscrupulous producers must be severely fined. Furthermore, local authorities should raise people’s awareness about how to treat natural resources judiciously and with respect. In order to facilitate the process there must be established organizations which control dumping waste that can be reclaimed such as paper, metal and glass. For instance, a western practice of sorting out different kinds of rubbish resulted in establishing special trash bins where you can leave old accumulators and batteries in numerous cities in this country.

To conclude, the current way of living is the root of the problem and it must be addressed via government regulations and teaching people how to consume reasonably.