New technologies have changed the way children spend their free time. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantage?

Modern technologies have changed our lives greatly. Nowadays, a significant number of children spend their leisure time differently from their predecessors due to technology innovations. From my standpoint, the disadvantages of this shift outweigh the advantages.

It is true that children may benefit from using cutting-edge technologies. A great deal of children learn new languages by watching foreign cartoons and videos. According to research, being bilingual or even multilingual further develops their brains compared to their monolingual peers. In addition, new generation kids adhere more easily to new technological developments and can use them more effectively. For example, young generation kids use social media and online gaming platforms more than any other generation.

However, exposure to technology gadgets such as smartphones and computers from an early age can leave adverse impacts. Firstly, children tend to get addicted to their smartphones which causes health issues such as their eyesight to worsen and obesity. Secondly, kids may lose their attention span easily and become unable to focus for a long time. Furthermore, some may become addicted to social media and online games which may distract them from their studies.

In my opinion, children’s use of technology should be restricted and supervised by their parents. Many children waste their leisure time using social media and online games excessively. However, if their use of social platforms is limited it may lead to damages.

In conclusion, children may benefit from using new technologies such as learning new languages, developing their brains, and using technology more effectively. However, the disadvantages of the possibility of health issues and shortened attention span outweigh the advantages.