News stories on TV and in newspapers are very often accompanied by pictures. Some people say that these pictures are more effective than words. What is your opinion about this?

Nowadays, the use of graphical interpretation in magazines and TV programs is becoming more and more popular. I firmly believe that it has a positive impact on the ability of watchers to remember information due to the fact that human brains are more focused on information that is easy to remember. Moreover, due to the fact that it is no longer needed to read hundreds of words, the use of images reduces the time viewers spend on news.

One of the cornerstone reasons why I think graphic interpretation plays a beneficial role is how easier it is for individuals to collect knowledge from the television or the newspapers when they do not need to read that much. According to researchers from the UK, the most efficient part of the human species’ memory is graphic memory; it is approximately 7 times faster than the reading and listening type. Therefore, I strongly believe that images sharply increase the efficiency of watching and reading news.

Another root cause why I advocate for showing pictures in broadcasts and papers is the amount of time which can be saved by it. For instance, the average citizen of Kazakhstan spends 30 minutes on reading words in media every day. If there are more graphic images than words, readers will spend dramatically less time on reading and could dedicate their time to other profitable directions. Hence, it has a strong impact on society and can help it in a good way.

In conclusion, it is possible to say that graphic interpretation of words has strong advantages such as the amount of time which can be saved by it, and the knowledge assimilation in readers’ minds.