Nowaday many people cannot read or write. What problems does this cause? What measures can governments take to solve these problems?

There is an increasing trend for most of the population in many countries cannot read and write and they are illiterate. There are several consequences that could lead to potential problems and so the government take initiatives to look after these problems. The problems and solutions will be discussed in the following paragraphs with relevant examples.

First and foremost, the lack of ability to read and write can bring several numbers of drawbacks to both citizens and the governments. The people have to face many challenges in their daily life because of their inability to read and write. The main problems happen due to illiterate is that when you want to gain employment but because of this problem they cannot convey their desires and their motives for the employment. Furthermore, if the person who lack in literacy can face different problems in the society which can lowers their living standards and sometimes it can lead to poverty and starvation. For example, the Nigeria has the highest literacy rate butpeople are facing many consequences related to food and other basic needs.

To begin with, there are several measures can be taken by the government to solve these problems like they can offer free school admissions for children or they can reduce the school fees. This can help in education become more affordable for people, resulting in increase in the number of children who are able to study and gain knowledge. Moreover, the authorities should encourage people to send their children to schools and this can increase the advantages or importance of literacy in the parents who were not aware.

To conclude, there are many problems related to literacy like unemployment, poverty and starvation among the people who are unable to read and write, but there are also several measures to cure these problems like free schooling, reduce in school fees and authorities should encourage or spread awareness among the people related to the importance of literacy.