Nowadays,young people are admiring media and sports stars, even though they do not set a good example. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Although renowned sports athletes are frequently concerned as undesirable standards to emulate, they are incessantly revered by the young. From my perspective, I assert that such a tendency is largely detrimental except for one potential benefit.

This trend could be advantageous only if young individuals disregard the deleterious and focus on the beneficial aspects of sports stars’ lives. Since these celebrities are normal human beings with imperfections and showcase not only admirable traits but also unwanted manners, supporters should be selective when idolizing them. In fact, the talented and successful footballer Cristiano Ronaldo is celebrated for his dedication and discipline in training as well as generous charitable donations while he has encountered allegations of sexual assault and tax evasion. Despite these mixed qualities, by overlooking his misbehaviors, young fans could learn from the positive attributes in order to overcome obstacles and pursue their passions with tremendous efforts.

Nevertheless, I contend that this is generally an adverse trend due to its deleterious long-lasting consequences. To be specific, the majority of young people are frequently immature and highly impressionable, who would be inclined to imitate all their idols’ actions without discerning the disparity between moral and immoral. To illustrate, Lance Armstrong, a seven-time Tour de France winner, faced accusations of abusing doping, a form of cheating, in his competitions. Therefore, such behaviors might lead to the normalization of misconduct, thus contributing to the young’s distorted moral development and making them undermine ethical standards in sports and community, potentially resulting in a disregard for rules and regulations.

In conclusion, in spite of some valuable life experiences young individuals can harness from top athletes, I personally believe that the proclivity of admiring and emulating these celebrities may disadvantageously affect the young’s mindset and actions. Therefore, this should be a largely worrying issue in today’s society.