Nowadays artificial intelligence is being used to drive cars. Why is this happening? Is it a positive or a negative development?

In recent years, automobiles have been operated with the help of artificial intelligence. This is due to the high-paced technological advancements of the last few decades, and it should be viewed from a negative perspective because of the high risks imposed by such automation, which could potentially endanger human life.

During the last years, there has been a rapid increase in technological breakthroughs, resulting in AI-driven cars. Synthetic Intelligence involves machine learning and algorithms that study pattern recognition and detection. Manufacturers and corporations saw a potential, bright future in self-driving vehicles controlled by Artificial Intelligence. Therefore, it is uncommon to spot such an automobile in public. For instance, Tesla is a manufacturer that develops vehicle-specialized computational intelligence and produces cars that drive independently.

Self-Automated vehicles should not be allowed or mostly restricted from driving on public roads as they risk human life. Cars controlled by artificial intelligence tend to follow patterns without actual consciousness, which poses a threat on fast-thinking occasions, whereas distinct human thinking can handle these situations. Recent studies show that during a few evasive situations, motion detection cameras attached on cars can be confused, hence making the AI think more than needed, slowing it down, eventually causing a fatal accident.